This girl loves…Sundays.

Sunday...

Sunday…

Tonight, as I was cleaning up the dinner dishes, I began reflecting about my current state of happiness.  For no reason at all, I realized how happily content I felt.  Having felt a little less than happy as of late, this current state was absolutely welcomed.

Just yesterday, I was speaking about contentedness with a friend.  We reminisced about our trip to England and the sheer happiness we felt for every second we resided in that wonderful country.  We both agreed that it shouldn’t take a trip to make us feel appreciative and reflective; that life itself should provide these experiences.

I remembered the reason I started this blog almost a year ago.  I wanted to take the time to “smell the roses” and record them.  I wanted to practice my writing.  I wanted to take notice of my life and share that with the world.  Love is a strong emotion and one I do not take lightly therefore, lately I haven’t had much inspiration to write.  I haven’t really “loved” much these days.

A shift began this weekend though.

I planned a trip to the ballet, dinner with a friend, and time with my family.  Tonight capped the weekend off with a simple dinner at my mom’s house.

Sunday dinners have always been a kind of tradition as it was usually a night where my mom would cook a bigger dinner.  Now that my brothers and I are off on our own, my mom and I have carried on with this tradition, always having dinner together on Sundays.

Sitting in her house, cozy on the couch while the smells of her cooking fills the air, my soul expands in such comfort. Tonight’s meal did not disappoint: meat loaf, mashed potatoes, and fresh green beans.  I remarked this evening that I could make a living just eating mashed potatoes.  There is something strangely comforting about the warmth, the soft texture, and the taste which my mom has perfected over the years.  Mashed potatoes: so simple, yet somehow so perfect.

I believe finding happiness in the everyday is a good start to being happy for life.  I hope that I can continue on this path.

Leave a Reply

