This girl loves…unexpected pleasures.

It's a foggy day here in Phoenix-town...

It’s a foggy day here in Phoenix-town…

The month of July here in Phoenix has been unusually rainy.  The fact that July is Arizona’s monsoon season has not historically had any bearing on this fact whatsoever because, as of late, monsoon has come to mean just a lot of blowing dust.  This summer, it is as if the Phoenician gods have smiled down upon me and sent down some of my favorite weather.  I guess committing to living here in Arizona has pleased them so.  I’m happy to oblige, in any case.

This morning began with brunch at a local favorite, Postino.  This was a first for me as I usually reserve Postino for wine and bruschetta.  Nevertheless, I had a coupon and decided to give it a try.  I was pleased with my meal and also by the freshly squeezed, locally grown orange juice that accompanied it.

The B.E.L.T at Postino

The B.E.L.T at Postino

After a delicious and filling brunch I took a drive through a mountain preserve not too far from Postino.  The rushing water drew me like a magnet.  I sped up the hill in order to get a closer look at this mysterious steady flow of water.  What I was met with pushed my senses to the limit–70 degree temperatures cooled my skin, cloud-covered skies dazzled my eyes, fresh rain water tickled my nose, and rushing water filled my ears with the most soothing of sounds.  Even now, with words and pictures, I can not quite seem to capture the feeling of pleasure that overtook me today.

The past week has been a stressful one so the calm I experienced today was truly an unexpected pleasure.  I tend to think those are the best kinds.

I have been reading the blogs of my traveling friends and family and while I love seeing and reading about their experiences I can’t quite stifle that green-eyed monster.  I want to be traveling, writing, and showing MY pictures to the world.  I want to be eating at new and interesting places taking in the sights, smells, and tastes they have to offer.  I want to be writing about these experiences  and sharing them with my friends and family.

But, wait.  I am doing all of that.  I am writing about MY travels, sharing MY pictures.  I am even eating at new and interesting places.  It just so happens that it is in my own backyard.

This learning to bloom where I am planted is still such a new concept to me.  I am finding, though, that when I dig into that fertile ground the green envy is quickly replaced by a myriad of colors blooming up and all around.  It is like Dorothy said in the Wizard of Oz, there’s no place like home and one doesn’t have to look any further than their own backyard to find adventure.

A motto I am trying to live by

A motto I am trying to live by

 

 

Leave a Reply

