This girl loves…Harry Potter.

Escaping...

Escaping…

It was a trying day at work which warranted an escape.

Movies and books are such an escape and my favorite escape is into the world of Harry Potter.  The musical score has the ability to calm my nerves-each da dum, da dum, da dum, di dum, da dum, da da da da washing over me like waves washing upon the shoreline.

Unlike most fans, my love of Harry Potter started with the movies.  I loved the characters and settings the film makers created.  It wasn’t until the plot began to thicken a bit more (in The Prisoner of Azkaban) that I decided to pick up the books.  Having a picture in my head of Harry, Ron, Hermione, Hogwarts, and Diagon Alley helped me to imagine the books in a different sort of way.  In a sense, the books provided the deleted scenes that the movies could not include.  The movies, however, provided the soundtrack and the vocals that made reading the books all the more real and inviting.  When I pick up one of the books, as I like to do every so often, I can hear their voices, their intonations, the cadence in which they would speak the words.  I can then, truly escape into this brilliant world created by the genius, J.K. Rowling.

Some of my favorite parts of the movie are the scenes inside the great hall-particularly the meals and how they magically appear on the plates.  The scrumptious leg of lamb  is a particular favorite of mine.  I love the train ride to Hogwarts and how we have a chance to glimpse a bit of the English countryside.  It reminds me of my own train riding through along the very same paths.  I would be remiss if I didn’t also mention Quidditch.  The film captures the essence of the game that was so complicated to read about.  Finally, the ending scene when Harry says goodbye, never fails to grip my heart-the score evoking emotions of homesickness for a country I like to call home.

Sometimes it is true that seeing is believing.  I am just happy that, with both the movies and the books, I don’t have to choose-I can see or read and still I believe.

One thought on “This girl loves…Harry Potter.

Leave a Reply

