This girl loves…romance.

The month of love is upon us and seeing as this blog is all about what I love, I thought it would be fitting to talk about romance (or in my case, talk about my hopeless romantic self).

"Who could refrain, That had a heart to love, and in that heart. Courage, to make's love known?" -Macbeth

“Who could refrain, That had a heart to love, and in that heart. Courage, to make’s love known?” -Macbeth

February 1st arrived and I was ready with my Valentine-themed pins.  I had collected and made an inventory all of my red attire: scarves, hats, socks, tights, sweaters.  I had pinned all of the recipes and crafts for the most lovely month.  I had also noted my favorite poems and quotes of love.

I had secured all things necessary to make this a love-filled month; all except a partner, a detail that had not yet escaped me.

For here I am, a girl who has so much love to give and but no partner with whom to give it.  I guess that is what defines a hopeless romantic after all: a romantic sans hope?  I refuse to believe that because I have yet to give up hope.

I have dreamed about that perfect someone that would sweep me off of my feet since I was a kid.  I’ve dreamed about words of love being whispered into my ear.  I’ve imagined scenes where we’d kiss in the rain or kiss in a field full of flowers or, the ultimate, kiss in front of Big Ben (yes, I am an Anglophile not a Francophile, so it’s Big Ben and not the Eiffel Tower for me).  Most of all, I’ve thought about how completely happy and utterly satisfied I’d feel if I just had that special someone.

I’m not imagining this feeling though because I’ve felt it before.  I guess that’s what sets me apart from other “hopeless romantics” because I have had that perfect someone.  I know what it feels like to be so content in love with someone that the rest of the world ceases to exist. I know what it is like to want to stop time and freeze that moment of sheer happiness.

For all of that, I cannot be content calling myself a hopeless romantic, better I should call myself a hopeful romantic.  As long as I have those memories of true, all-encompassing love, then I cannot lose hope; for, one day my prince shall come.

Leave a Reply

